Andrew Minchew Online HQ

Why a blog? Why now? Why so plain?

I've been learning to enjoy my hobbies and explore my personal interests, and I want a place that's all mine to mash all those things together into some kind of weird, mutant mood-vision-journal-folio-board where I can share what I'm up to, blather about things I'm thinking and maybe even connect with some new people.

I've also been reading lately about the small web / indie web, and it seemed like a fun avenue to walk down. Especially in light of all the old social networks blowing up, crumbling down, or alienating their user bases.

I decided to use mataroa.blog to host my stuff because it's so plain. I am hoping to write more words more often, but if I had picked a site that let me labor over layout and colors and all manor of minutia, I definitely would have labored, all the while wishing I had done more writing.